MATC IT Computer Support Specialist Pathways

MATC’s IT Computer Support Specialist Pathways are designed to help students choose between the different educational options available for IT computer support specialists. Pathways are also helpful for students that might have different interests and goals with IT Support technologies. Curriculum is offered in different methods for flexibility of scheduling.

There are multiple educational credentials available for MATC students – see diagram below, which lists educational offerings available:


MATC’s IT Service Center Technician Certificate is a starting point for students interested in a career in IT computer support. This 10-credit certificate provides solid preparation for the CompTIA A+, HDI SCA, HDI DST and ITIL Foundation industry-standard certification, including the skills essential for a successful entry-level computer service center technician.

Classes include:

  • ITSUP-101 CIS Fundamentals (3 credits)
  • ITSUP-102  CompTIA A+ Essentials  (4 credits)
  • ITSUP-140  Support Center Analyst (HDI SCA, HDI DST, ITIL) (3 credits)


MATC’s Microsoft Enterprise Desktop Support Specialist certificate provides Windows client and server support training.  This 8-credit certificate provides preparation for Microsoft’s Configuring Windows 7 (70-680), Windows 7 Enterprise Desktop Support Technician (70-685), and Windows Server 2008 Active Directory Configuration (70-640) exams.  Lab activities include installations, deployments, configurations, maintenance and monitoring systems.

Classes include:

  • ITNET-110   Managing Windows Desktop Client OS (3 credits)
  • ITSUP-108  Enterprise Desktop Support  (2 credits)
  • ITSUP-140   Support Center Analyst (HDI-SCA, HDI-DST, ITIL)  (3 credits)


MATC’s Level 2-Service Center Technician certificate provides training in networking, security, and soft skills. This nine-credit certificate provides preparation for CompTIA’s Network+ and Security+ certifications, HDI’s Support Center Analyst and Desktop Support Technician as well as ITIL. Students will acquire skills necessary for Level 2-Service Center support.

Classes include:

  • ITNET-101   Network Communications (CompTIA Net+) (3 credits)
  • ITSEC-124   Network Security (CompTIA Security+) (3 credits)
  • ITSUP-140   Support Center Analyst (HDI-SCA, HDI-DST, ITIL)  (3 credits)


MATC’s Advanced Technical Support Certificate provides Apple support training along with mobile device repair and administration. This 12-credit certificate provides preparation for Apple ACSP and CompTIA’s Mobility+ certifications. In addition to offering technical training in planning, maintaining, troubleshooting and integrating Mac OS X, this certificate also includes deploying, integrating, supporting, repairing, securing and managing mobile devices. Potential jobs include system administrators, technical coordinator and support professionals.

Classes include:

  • ITSUP-150   Emerging Technology (Mobile Device Repair) (3 credits)
  • ITSUP-152   Apple OSX Certified Support Professional (3 credits)
  • ITSUP-153   Mobility+ Device Administration (3 credits)
  • ITSUP-140   Support Center Analyst (HDI-SCA, HDI-DST, ITIL)  (3 credits)


MATC’s IT Computer Support Specialist Associate Degree Program provides the most versatile hands-on technical education for today’s support specialists. IT computer support is an excellent starting point for an IT career, as it generates the most IT openings in Wisconsin. The IT Computer Support Specialist degree program focuses on end-user support and service desk training. You’ll be ready for jobs that require skills in developing and maintaining information systems, plus training and supporting the people using those systems. Personal communication skills, analytical problem-solving skills, and the abilities to work independently and as part of a team are important for success.